School Ethics Commission Meeting Public Session Minutes

June 25, 2019

Chairperson Robert Bender called the meeting to order at 9:42 a.m.

Notice of the meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act. In attendance were School Ethics Commission (Commission) members Michael Carucci, Michael Collins, Mark Finkelstein, Dan Kaplan, Dennis Roberts, Jude Tanella, and Chairperson Bender. Commission member Richard Tomko was absent.

Also, in attendance were Kathryn Whalen, Director, Offices of School Ethics and Compliance, staff member Jeannine Pizzigoni, and Deputy Attorney General (DAG) Joan Scatton.

9:46 a.m. Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Michael Collins, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss confidential matters and to obtain legal advice regarding the following Complaints and matters involving possible litigation: C30-19; C16-10; possible rescheduling of the October 22, 2019, meeting; C17-18; C17-12; discussion regarding proposed revisions to Chapter 28 regulations.

Vote: $7 - Yes \quad 0 - No$

At the outset of open/public session, Commission member Kaplan advised the Commission of his intention, at the close of the meeting, to resign from the Commission.

12:04 p.m. Commission member Collins departed from the meeting.

12:05 p.m. Open Session

Administrative Dismissals

C30-19 This matter was on the agenda for informational purposes only.

Other Business

Update on Settlement offer/resolution in connection with C16-10 Motion was made by Mark Finkelstein, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to accept the settlement offer as written.

Vote: $6 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

Discussion Regarding October 22, 2019 Meeting After discussion, a motion was made by Mark Finkelstein, and seconded by, Dennis Roberts to change the date of the October meeting from October 22, 2019, to October 21, 2019.

Vote: $6 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

C17-18 Motion was made by Jude Tanella, and seconded by Daniel Kaplan, to adopt the Resolution of Censure as written.

Vote: $6 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

C17-12 Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Daniel Kaplan to adopt the Resolution of Censure as written.

Vote: 5 - Yes 0 - No 1 - Abstention (Mark Finkelstein abstained)

Discussion Regarding Proposed Revisions to Chapter 28 Regulations This matter was on the agenda for informational purposes only, and continued discussions will occur at future meetings.

Resignation of Commission Member Kaplan Motion was made by Mark Finkelstein, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to accept Dan Kaplan's resignation, with regret. Members of the Commission offered their sincerest thanks to Commission member Kaplan for his invaluable service and contributions to the Commission during his tenure.

12:13 p.m. Motion was made by Dan Kaplan, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to adjourn.

Vote: $6 - Yes \qquad 0 - No$

Submitted by:

Jeannine Pizzigoni

Approved by:

Kathryn A. Whalen, Director